Online realm brings not only benefits. Some users tend to be prone to online harassing and abuse, and the best way of protecting yourself online is blocking the ones who try to affect you. WhatsApp, naturally as any other serious online service, allows users to block each other. So, if you need to block users on WhatsApp, you may consider this guide quite useful. We will also show how to unblock users if you have, for example, blocked someone by mistake.
Prior to getting to block users on WhatsApp, you need to access this messenger application
- In the first place, begin the entire process by tapping on the WhatsApp icon on your smartphone’s homescreen. That will launch the application.
The next step that must be done by you is clicking on this button in order to prompt the app’s menu
- After opening the WhatsApp app, you will have to call a pop-up menu by clicking on the “Settings” button, placed in the right-upper corner.
You can see the blocked users on the page of your account’s settings
- In the pop-up menu, you should tap on “Settings” among other menu items.
Here you can configure all the settings regarding blocked users
- Once you have accessed the page of your account’s settings, you need to tap on the “Privacy” section.
The page of privacy settings allows you to block users on WhatsApp and unblock those who were blocked before
- On the page of your account’s privacy settings, you need to scroll down till the very bottom. Under “Messaging,” you will get to see such a section like “Blocked Contacts.” Tap on it.
Here, you can see all the contacts whom you have blocked
- On the following page, you will get to see the list of all the users whom you have blocked previously.
In order to block users on WhatsApp, you need to click on this icon
- In order to block a user on WhatsApp, you need to click on the “Block Users” button, located in the right-upper corner of that page.
Select a user whom you want to block on WhatsApp simply by tapping on his or her name
- Following it, you will get to see the list of your contacts on WhatsApp. Select a user who is bothering you by tapping on his or her name.
Now, you can see that a user has been added to the list of the blocked contacts of yours
- The user who you have just selected will immediately be added to the block list of yours.
- You can also unblock a user you want. On the page of your block list, you need to tap on the name of the user you want to unblock.
If you ever decide to unblock someone, just tap on the name of that user in the block list and confirm it by tapping on “Unblock username”
- In order to confirm unblocking the user, you should tap on the “Unblock username” button.
Still don’t have a WhatsApp account? Find out how to get started here.